Search This Blog

Friday 12 August 2011

Final List...and I'm on it!

ST. JOHN’S, NL – Judy Morrow, President of the Liberal Party of Newfoundland & Labrador is pleased to announce that nominations for Leader of the Liberal Party of Newfoundland & Labrador have closed. At the close of nominations, the following seven (7) people submitted an expression of interest:

· Aylward, Kevin
· Cabana, Brad
· Coffey, Bernard
· Dumaresque, Danny
· Lane, Ryan
· Martin, Rodney
· Murphy, Charles

Following the resignation of Yvonne Jones, the Liberal Party of Newfoundland & Labrador Executive Board opened nominations on Wednesday, August 10, 2011 closing today at Noon.

Commencing at 2pm today, the Liberal Party of Newfoundland & Labrador shall engage in a 48-hour consultation process that will reach out to Liberals province-wide.

The Executive Board of the Liberal Party of Newfoundland & Labrador shall convene on Sunday, August 14, 2011 at 2pm at the Delta St. John’s, New Gower Street. At this time, candidates will have the opportunity to address the Executive Board. Members of the Executive Board shall consider and discuss the feedback received through the consultation process. Following the candidates presentation, the Executive Board shall vote to determine the successful candidate for Leader.

“This is a step in the right direction to further grow and strengthen our party,” said Morrow. “I am thrilled by the high level of candidates that have come forward at this time. The selection of a new Leader will ensure Liberals are strong, united and ready to challenge the government in the upcoming provincial election.”

The Liberal Party of Newfoundland and Labrador is looking forward to informative candidate discussions. Interested members of the public who wish to provide feedback during this consultative process can do so by:

· Email –
· Phone – (709) 754-1813 or toll free (866) 726-7116
· Fax – (709) 726-7164

Candidate biographies and headshots will be available after 2pm today,

No comments:

Post a Comment